My Review: Dilek Hanif Spring Summer 2011 Couture, Paris

2 Mar
As I ventured my way through a coterie of invitees, their Ray Ban Wayfarers adding that fashion show goer élan, I managed to catch a glimpse of the sheer beauty and brilliance of my surroundings, The Hotel de Crillon in the heart of Paris was the luxurious setting for Dilek Hanif’s 2011 Couture Collection. Even the luminous photographer flashes could not have captured my mien of glee at having been able to attend the show, I had been following Dilek’s creations for a few years and I was now able to take in the whole event.

My gold coated front row pew had me neighbouring with the who is who of the Paris circle. Lights duly dimmed and I-phone’s at the ready, the first look of the show made it’s glittering entrance.

 A bolero jacket with shorts in silver sequins and crystals sashayed in front of us, a long green chiffon dress with a gemstone neckline, and a honey beige bustier dress with a ton sur ton gleaming detail.

 All aerated an Ottoman zephyr on the show, the colour selections were intense Arabian gold, and red-orange, and classical tones of ivory and black.

There was a sensuous channelling of the 20’s with a particular Jean Harlow-esque look.

 The collection had the lustre of perfection and the fabulous appearance of freedom, fluidity was created by the addition of fringes, and folds, and fabrics of silk and lace. Plunging necklines and and exposed backs adorned with gem encrusted criss cross straps bring stylish awareness to the sensuality of the female shape.


Dilek’s creation was an ode to traditional handcrafted Couture with a distinctive new vision of infusing the designs with modern versatility. The show came to a close with a white mist-like tulle brodal gown.
As all the models returned, the line up against the mirrored walls with the array of crystals and gems, seemed to reflect the pure ad sheer brilliance of Dilek Hanifs latest collection.

I rose from my seat to make my way out to the hall, although I had found my route barricaded by a few Birkin’s on the floor, I managed to thank the lovely Jasmine for having invited me to the show. With Champagne glasses being sipped by the fashionably stylish I could not help but listen in to the fabulous reviews that Dilek’s creations were going to have.

One Response to “My Review: Dilek Hanif Spring Summer 2011 Couture, Paris”

  1. bubbles on my planet March 3, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    This designer has got a lot of talent, this collection is fabulous!
    The green dress on the second picture is amazing, so elegant!! and also the orange one!
    xoxo

Leave a comment